The Secretariat of the Local Government Department is headed by the Additional Chief Secretary. He is assisted by Special/ Additional/ Joint/ Deputy /Under Secretaries for the discharge of day to day functions.

The secretariat work is divided into  mainly four branches as follows:

  • LG1-works and issues related to Municipal corporations
  • LG2-works and issues related to Improvement Trusts
  • LG3-works and issues related to Municipal Councils
  • LG4-Coordination Branch
Name of the Branch Work Allocated
Local Government Branch-1 1. All matters of Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor/ Deputy Mayor and Councillors of the Corporation; Christian Marriage Act, 1872
2. All service matters of Chief Engineer(CE), Superintendenting Engineers,  XEN(B&R),(O&M) and ADFO of all the Corporation
3. All work relating to Municipal Corporation
Local Government Branch-2 Establishment of  Chairman, Joint Deputy Director, Executive Officer, Chief Engineer, Trust Engineers, Superintending Engineers,Law Officer, Accounts Officers, Assistant Town Planners, Town Planners. Court Cases, RTI Act  pertaining to above noted works. (IMPROVEMENT TRUSTS)
 Local Government Branch-3 Establishment works of Joint Directors, Executive Officers,Chief Engineers, Superintending Engineer, Assistant Municipal Engineers, Municipal Town Planner, Town Planner, Extension in Municipal Limits of Municipalities and notifications thereof. Court Cases and RTIs.Appointment of Presidents and removal thereof.
Local Government Branch-4 Coordination with all Secretarial Branches of Local Govt., Rent Act, PMIDC Act, Financial Sanctions of Grants, Cases of RTI, National Greent Tribunal, Training Programme, Departmental Meetings, Establishment works-Land Acquisition and STPs of PWSSB, Matters relating to Punjab Vidhan Sabha, Court Cases, RTIs etc.